45th Annual Meeting Wrap Up

PHW’s Annual Meeting on Sunday was a terrific success. The event, held on the rear lawn of the Hexagon House, reviewed fiscal year 2008-2009. PHW welcomed four new members to the Board this year – Karen Clay, Rob Hustick, Mark Lore, and Dan McCoig – as well as welcoming Richard Bell as PHW’s next President. Frank Wright remains on the Board in the Past President position. All other officer positions remain the same.

The Annual Meeting is also the time to celebrate the 2009 Preservation Awards. This year’s winners are:

Lucille Lozier Award
Debra Johnson and Richard Oram, The Union Bank Building

Carroll H. Henkel Award
Maral Kalbian, for her expertise in historic tax credits

Ben Belchic Award
Warren Hofstra, for his lecture series “Our Community, Our State, Our Nation: American History in the Modern Era”

Elsie Rosenberger Award
Edwin and Betty Orndoff, for their dedicated volunteer service to the Holiday House Tour and other PHW activities for over thirty years

Awards of Merit
Walter Jackson Helm, renovation of 119 South Washington Street
Dan and Lisa McCoig, renovation of 35 West Piccadilly Street
Harry and Debbie Smith, renovation of 106 North Washington Street
Paul and Anna Thomson, renovation of 15 South Braddock Street

PHW also presented a new Lifetime Achievement award to E. E. Bayliss, Jr. Mr. Bayliss was instrumental in the success of PHW’s Revolving Fund program. He was an active and involved PHW member throughout the organization’s history. Unfortunately, Mr. Bayliss passed away before the Annual Meeting. Shotsie Bayliss accepted the award in his place.